Nationalities which need an EVUS registration

Information about EVUS eligible countries

EVUS for Chinese (PRC) passport

Who is required to apply for EVUS?

As of November 2016 all nationals and citizens of the People’s Republic of China who hold a 10-year B1, B2 or a combined B1/B2 Visa to the US will be required to register for EVUS before traveling to the United States. This includes citizens of Macau, Hong Kong and Taiwan traveling with a passport issued by the People’s Republic of China.

Please note that soon more countries may be added to the list of countries required to enroll with EVUS before traveling. Make sure to follow the latest news for more information on the matter. The Department of Homeland Security launched the Electronic Visa Update System to cater to Chinese nationals. The objective of this online program is to facilitate the admission of Chinese citizens to the United States.

Failure to apply for EVUS could result in denied entry to the country. The enrollment with this online program should take place ahead of departure to the United States. It is advised that applicants submit their application 72 hours before their trip.

The EVUS enrollment is mandatory for all individuals who want to travel to the United States and have a People’s Republic of China citizenship and a visitor visa. Each person is required to complete the application process. Children are not exempt and should also have a valid passport and visa.

EVUS Countries: citizens required to enroll

At the moment, only citizens who hold a passport issued by the People’s Republic of China (PRC) need to enroll in EVUS before traveling to the US. To be able to enroll in EVUS, it is necessary to have a valid Chinese passport and a 10-year U.S. Visa (B1, B2, or B1/B2 Combination Visa).

Nationals who have passports issued by Hong Kong (HKSAR), Macau (MSAR), and Taiwan do not need to enroll with EVUS. However, if a resident of Hong Kong, Macau or Taiwan has a Chinese (PRC) passport, it is necessary to complete an EVUS registration form.

EVUS is likely to expand in the future to include more countries. Mexico, Venezuela, and Colombia are among the countries expected to be added to the list of EVUS countries.

Evus Countries

  • EVUS Countries

Learn more about:

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree